Official races thus far

February 12, 2008

This is a catch-up entry describing the three runs I’ve completed this year. Before this year I had run two organized 5ks, both when I was in junior high school.

Emerald Nuts Midnight Run 4M
Central Park, New York, NY
Tuesday, January 1, 2008

This New Year’s Eve 4-mile fun run is where I retrospectively mark the start of my marathon training. In the days leading up to the run I made sure I could survive 4M because returning from a long break from running, I wasn’t so sure. This race is a New Year’s party with DJ, costume contest, give-aways, and a countdown to midnight that kicked off the race. It was all quite remarkable: we ran as fireworks exploded above and alcohol-free champagne hydration was provided at the 2-mile mark. I’d definitely do it again. The race was not officially scored; my net time was 31:52 (7:53 pace).

NYRR Fred Lebow Classic 5M (Q)
Central Park, New York, NY
Saturday, January 12, 2008

The 5M Fred Lebow Classic was my first official qualifying race. Not knowing how well I’d run 5 miles and not wanting to be nuisance to faster runners, I started inside the 9:00 pace marker. Instead, I think I became a nuisance to slower runners. My official time was 39:18 (7:51 pace).

NYRR Gridiron Classic 4M (Q)
Central Park, New York, NY
Sunday, February 3, 2008

The Gridiron Classic is a 4-mile race held in the spirit of the Super Bowl! It was amazing to see so many runners. I again started at around the 8:30 pace marker after already twice demonstrating I was 40 seconds faster – fast runner, slow learner apparently! The first mile was spent weaving around people, but at mile 2 the road opened up. My official time was 31:12 (7:48 pace).