Review: Garmin Forerunner 405 HRM

May 4, 2008

Garmin Forerunner 405 HRM
REI; $349.95 + $22.99 2-day shipping

I’ve been eagerly awaiting the Forerunner 405 since January.  Its release was delayed and delayed and again delayed.  It finally made its debut at the Boston Marathon and soon after at online retailers and local running shops.  As soon as REI confirmed they were shipping units, I cancelled my pre-orders and waitlists and ordered over the phone.  The price for the Forerunner 405 with HRM is the same everywhere, $349.

I’ve been testing out the features of the Garmin watch for the past week and am very satisfied with the purchase.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any experience with the Forerunner 305 so I can’t make any direct comparisons with the 405’s predecessor.  Below are a few aspects of the 405 that were most important to me as a runner.

Design

The Forerunner 405 is demonstrated in the Garmin blog videos as a watch you can work out in and then “wear in the office.”  So that’s exactly what I did.  I’m an actuary on Wall Street and dress to work in a suit everyday.  I got a few curious looks on the subway as I was playing with the 405 but no one said anything — neither on the subway (no surprise, really) nor at work.  But not getting any comments doesn’t mean it looked appropriate, not with a suit anyway.  Nevertheless, the watch didn’t interfere with my furious tapping away at Excel during the workday.

I don’t know if I’d go as far as saying the 405 is stylish, but it’s certainly not ugly.  The Forerunner 305 looks like my old Palm Pilot strapped to a wristband, while the Suunto T9 looks like it’s designed to launch nuclear missiles.  The 405 looks like an unusually thick sports watch.

What’s not obvious from photos is that some of the 405’s electronics are built into the strap which extends about an inch above and below the gray bezel.  Below the bezel is where the GPS antenna is located.  This means about 3″ of the watch isn’t pliable and may not conform tightly to very small wrists.  However, the resulting crescent shape actually helps in putting on the watch.

The picture to the left shows the smallest band setting on the 405; there are 12 notches in the band but I found the first 2 notches unreachable without overstretching the band (set on notch 3 in picture).  If I wear the 405 as I would a normal watch (on my average-sized wrist) on notch 6, gaps appear between the watch and my skin as I push the watch side to side.  When the 405 is worn normally the gaps aren’t noticeable and don’t cause the watch to slide around.  Measuring circumference of the band is too difficult to do accurately and wouldn’t provide a good sense of fit.

Here the thickness of the Forerunner is shown next to the popular Timex Ironman watch, which may be the gold standard for basic sports watches.  There is good reason why this is the Ironman “sleek” version — I probably couldn’t find a slimmer watch for comparison.  The 405 is heavier than most watches but it hasn’t bothered me a bit while running.

There are lots of options available in customizing the watch interface, but I’d like to select options through Garmin Training Center which would then synchronize with the watch (this is done in a few cases already, such as user profile details, heart rate, and speed zones).  Maybe this would be messy to implement, but it’d be great if, for example, you could relive a saved race in Garming Training Center and have the data play through a watch emulator where you can test configurations of data fields and screens.  These settings you should then be able to send back to the Forerunner.

Bezel

The bezel locks/unlocks by holding down the two buttons simultaneously.  I found it very easy to toggle this unintentionally, as when putting on a backpack or pulling up the sleeves of a jacket.  There is some mechanism that tries to recognize errant bezel touches but I’ve noticed this does not always work perfectly and I need to sometimes tap several times to get a response — not very significant in my opinion.

The bezel is very similar to the iPod wheel.  However, every time your finger is at the top of the bezel when circling on the 405, it blocks the screen.  It’s rather annoying but can be avoided by not circling all the way around, just around the sides and bottom.

The backlight is turned on by tapping the bezel in two locations.  The light is very bright and fills the entire screen evenly.  There is also an option to change how many seconds the light remains on (or on until turned off).

Satellite Signal

Picking up a satellite signal was much easier than expected, even here in Manhattan.  As long as I stand near the street curb I get a signal within a minute, usually much less.  There is some play with losing satellite signal (power save) when in Training mode while not yet having started the timer.  It’s usually not a big deal and regaining signal is much faster than acquiring it from the GPS off position.  However, what happens when the watch falls into power save and the race horn sounds?  I don’t want to think about it.

Time Keeping

The clock on the 405 is set via satellite signal; no manual adjustments are possible except for time zone.  Exactly one week ago I synchronized the time on my Timex Ironman to match the 405.  Today, seven days later, the Ironman clock time is two seconds ahead of the 405.  Obviously assuming the satellite time is correct (GPS satellites carry sophisticated atomic clocks), this does not make my Ironman look so great.

Battery

I don’t see battery life as an issue.  My 405 was fully charged for the Brooklyn Half Marathon on Saturday, I conducted a few tests with GPS this afternoon, and the battery is now at 43%.  The battery recharges very quickly, which either indicates that it’s of good quality or that it’s small and there’s not much to recharge.

Charging is done via an alligator clip that loosely snaps onto the 405; the other end connects to a USB port or directly into a wall outlet.  The positioning of the clip on the watch is partially by feel, but once it’s connected to the recessed nodes the watch will beep and the screen will indicate it’s charging.

Features

I was primarily looking for a GPS watch to tell me in real time how fast I was running and then be able to display my route on a computer.  The 405 does both very well.

My complaint is that the documentation is very poor; except for the initial set-up, almost everything else needs to be figured out by experimentation.  The menus take time to decipher and you’re mostly on your own — again, experimentation.

Satellite Tracking

I walked a zig-zagging path through the streets of the Upper West Side that took me under tree cover, next to tall buildings, under scaffolding, and into a Tasti D-lite shop.  The resulting map when exported to Google Earth is decent.  It tracked exactly the streets I walked, but the path is sometimes crooked and occasionally shows me walking on rooftops.  When I walked into Tasti D-lite (wide open doors) my location becomes erratic, as if I was dancing in the middle of Broadway.  Nevertheless, I’m impressed; you need to recognize this test was hardly fair for a GPS watch.  The 405 is intended for outdoor running, not timing how long it takes to get a chocolate/vanilla frozen yogurt in a waffle cone.

My next test was walking around the JKO Reservoir in Central Park.  Here the mapping was very accurate.  I stayed to the right of the path to avoid runners, but I can even see where I moved to the left to pass a group of slow-moving tourists.

I also tried stopping the watch/timer, walking 150 yards, and then restarting it.  The watch connects the dots in a straight line when mapping, but it does not count the line as part of the total time or distance, which is exactly what you’d expect.  Without the connecting line, it’d be easy to lose track of scattered timed segments, although it’d be helpful if this assumed line was differently colored or dashed.

GPS Navigation

I read online a common complaint that the 405 does not have on-screen mapping like the 305.  It’s actually hard to imagine that this would be a popular function for everyday use, but the 405 has two related features: Go to Location and Back to Start.

The Go to Location function displays a compass rose and pointer arrow and indicates how far a previously saved point is located.  Technically, you don’t even need to have visited the saved location; it’s possible to edit latitude/longitude and rename locations on the watch.  The 405 comes preset with a few mysterious locations thousands of miles away that seem to have something to do with Garmin (deletable!).  The Go to Location function is probably useful as a desperate last measure to make your way home or, for the sentimental folks, to know how far you are from your faraway girlfriend.  The distances indicated are straight line point-to-point.

More useful for out-and-back runs in an unfamiliar city is the Back to Start function.  When selected, an arrow appears pointing you in the direction you came from and the distance to back-track your route to your original location.

The compass rose and pointer arrow spin wildly when using either of the functions and standing still, but if you keep the watch positioned directly in front of you and start moving, the result stabilizes.  (There is no magnetic compass on the 405 so the 405 needs movement to recognize your orientation via GPS.)  During my test at the JKO Reservoir, Back to Start requested I turn around and follow the path (distance 0.55 miles) while Go to Location pointed across the water to my starting point (distance 0.30 miles).  Both were accurate.

Data Fields

There are 3 customizable screens (labeled Training 1, 2, 3 in the 405 menu) with up to 3 data fields on each, plus one Heart Rate screen.  The available fields are: Sunrise, Sunset, Time, Time-Avg Lap, Time-Lap, Time-Last Lap, Time of Day, Cadence, Cadence-Avg, Cadence-Lap, Calories, Distance, Dist-Lap, Dist-Last Lap, Elevation, GPS Accuracy, Grade, HR, HR-%Max, HR-Avg, HR-Avg %Max, HR-Lap, HR Graph, HR Zone, Heading, Laps, Pace, Pace-Avg, Pace-Lap, Pace-Last Lap, Speed, Speed-Avg, Speed-Lap, and Speed-Last Lap.  (Clearly, fields like cadence require additional hardware.)  In my experience, Elevation and related Grade data is unreliable; while the elevation here on the Upper West Side is approximately correct on average (~125 ft.), the data shows too much variation to be useful.

The screens and fields are easy to customize.  It’s possible to set all screens with data fields but then turn off the screens individually (only Training 1 cannot be turned off) which is convenient if you only want certain data for specific workouts.  Reconfiguring the data fields (or navigating the menus for that matter) during a run is nearly impossible.

Virtual Partner

The Virtual Partner feature works as advertised.  When in Training mode, the Virtual Partner appears as another data screen.  Adjusting the VP pace requires circling the bezel which changes the pace in increments of 5 seconds.  Meaning, if you’re adjusting from a running pace to a walking pace, it’ll rub your finger raw!  Okay, it’s not that bad, but it’d be nice if it could somehow accelerate the increments the longer you scroll.  Also, it’s probably worth noting that when you adjust the Virtual Partner pace mid-run, it brings both you and the VP back to even.  I like this implementation.  A cute touch is that when you press the stop button, the running icons bend over and put their hands on their knees as if they were tired (just like me!).

Heart Rate Monitor

The heart rate monitor is definitely one of the 405’s strengths.  The strap is comfortable and the readings seem very accurate and sensitive to the level of activity.  It’s very easy to pair the HR strap with the watch.  As soon as I put on the HR strap (almost instantaenously) a message appears indicating the strap was detected.  In Training mode a small heart icon appears on the watch screen confirming it’s connected and transmitting.  (It’ll likewise indicate with a small flashing ‘x’ if it’s paired but not transmitting.)  You don’t turn the HR strap on and off — it’s in standby until it somehow knows it’s in use.

When the heart rate monitor is detected, the 405 adds the Heart Rate screen into the mix of screens.  It’s easy to get overwhelmed with data (up to 3 data screens, Heart Rate screen, Virtual Partner…) but it’s customizable to your liking.

Courses

I have not used the Course function, but I may in the future.  Garmin Training Center lets you create courses from previously saved information which then lets you race against it and navigate.  These courses you can also annotate to indicate valleys, left/right turns, water stops, etc.  What it cannot do is let you draw a route and send that information to your 405 (at least through GTC, I understand there are workarounds).  Nevertheless, this function has potential.  I’ll probably make a course out of the Central Park and Reservoir loops I run frequently.

Workouts

When I purchased the Forerunner 405 I didn’t even know designing workouts was possible, yet this function is especially sophisticated.  The Garmin Training Center software comes with several predefined workouts.  Let me grab a few lines to illustrate what these workouts look like:

  1. Go for 00:02:00.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 1.
  2. Go for 00:02:00.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 2.
  3. Go for 00:02:00.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 3.
  4. Repeat the steps below 2 times:
    Go 0.1 Miles.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 4.
    Go 0.1 Miles.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 2.
  5. Repeat the steps below 2 times:
    Go 0.1 Miles.  Try to keep my speed in zone 4 (SLOW JOG).
    Go 0.1 Miles.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 2.

To schedule a workout, you simply drag-and-drop a workout onto the Garmin calendar which will then sychnronize with the 405 (to do a workout, it does not need to be scheduled).  In the watch Time/Date mode it’ll say:

Today’s Workout:
[workout]
Enter To Do Workout

Workouts are only as good as the instructions.  Garmin appears to have a tie-up with Training Peaks and New Leaf where you can subscribe to more workouts or you can always program your own.  There is surely no shortage of running books with suggested workouts at Barnes & Noble.

The Forerunner’s Advanced workouts give you a lot of flexbility, but if you don’t know what you’re doing it’ll show.  Just to see what would happen, I programmed unrealistic steps such as “Go for 00:03:00. Try to keep my heart rate in zone 5.” Followed by “Go for 00:00:15.  Try to keep my heart rate in zone 1.”  Easy to program, impossible to do; the alerts will beep at you.  Likewise, if your speed and heart rate zone are not set correctly, it’ll be very difficult to maintain different zones.  My Slow Walk zone was set so slow that I could not walk slow enough.  And the 405 didn’t care:  SLOW DOWN!  Beep!

The 405 also lets you select Simple, Interval, and Heart Rate workouts that can be programmed on the watch itself.  Take Interval, the options are: Type (distance/time), Duration (distance/time), Rest Type (distance/time), Rest Duration (distance/time), Reps (number), Warmup (yes/no), Cooldown (yes/no).  Do Workout.

When a Workout is active, the workout is added as another data screen, keeping all your other screens available.  If the workout says to keep in Speed Zone 3, it’s still possible to click through to see what your heart rate is even though it’s not explicitly required for the workout.

When the workout data is uploaded to Garmin Training Center, each step of the workout is shown as a Lap, but there’s no way to tie it back to the specific workout and its instructions.  This is a pretty serious limitation.

I like keeping my workouts flexible; sometimes I’ll turn a 5 mile run into 7, sometimes I’ll start running fartleks.  The 405 workout feature is terrific, but it’s not something I see myself using regularly.

Software

The Garmin Forerunner 405 software is good but not perfect.

There are two pieces to install:

  1. Garmin ANT (wireless data transfer to computer, to online)
  2. Garmin Training Center (analysis/history software)

Garmin ANT

I have an issue with Garmin ANT quitting whenever my computer wakes from Standby mode,  which requires me to restart Garmin ANT.  I haven’t been able to Google the problem, so maybe this is specific to my set-up. I received an email from Garmin Product Support saying that there is no way around the error except to prevent my computer from going into Standby.  However, the representative suggested that if I log off from my computer, Garmin ANT will restart the next time I log in.

Other than the problem with Standby, the wireless connection works flawlessly.  My 405 is always recognized and in a minute or so, data is uploaded from the watch and displayed in Garmin Training Center.  There are options to select where the watch data should be sent, online and/or Garmin Training Center, and whether or not to delete data from the 405 after transfer.

Garmin Training Center

The Garmin Training Center is client-side software with well-organized interface and clear graphs.  There are no lags — every click responds instantaneously.  The graphs are integrated so that clicking a point on a graph measuring distance or heart rate will show a change on the map and vice-versa.

History is neatly stored by activity type (Running, Biking, Other, Multisport), then by week (4/27/2008-5/3/2008), and then by activity time (5/3/2008 9:02:17AM).  There is no way to rename the activities, which would come in handy if I ever wanted to find a former race in a few years.  I would remember “Brooklyn Half Marathon 2008” not “5/3/2008 9:02:17AM”.  It is WAY too easy to delete history — all it takes is a click of Delete.  There’s no confirmation box and it’s easy to miss the undo.

The software does neat things like setting up zones automatically for heart rate and pace depending on your history and then telling you how much time/distance you spent in each zone (it indicates I was slow jogging during my half marathon yesterday and that’s unfortunately tough to disagree with).  The zones can be adjusted manually as well.  Surprisingly, some useful data are not provided, such as splits — this calculation I have to do myself manually.  In other words, there is no easy way to tell how long it took to run the first 6 miles in a 13.1-mile race.

Garmin Training Center does not let you make manual adjustments, such as splitting a lap if a mile marker was missed.  It does let you delete laps though.  Perhaps still a shortcoming, not being able to alter data keeps it honest; this way you can’t peel 15 minutes off your time and post those results online (or inadvertently mess up the data entirely).  The way Garmin provides clock time at the start of each lap, each lap time, and distance (calculating pace) leaves no room for ambiguity.

Garmin Connect

It seems Garmin Connect, the Garmin web application, is redundant to Garmin Training Center, but slower and less detailed.  It is good, however, for sharing maps/results over the Internet.  I sent my family my half marathon results; my dad’s reaction: “This is definitively cool.  You were wearing a GPS system?  Nice race.”  I doubt I’ll use Garmin Connect regularly but it seems many other Forerunner enthusiasts do.

Raw Data

It is possible to export raw watch data from Garmin Training Center as XML with latitude, longitude, altitude, distance, sensor details, among much other data.  The XML schema is viewable here.

Trackpoints are recorded once every two seconds, an example:

<Trackpoint>
   <Time>2008-05-03T13:02:21Z</Time>
   <Position>
      <LatitudeDegrees>40.5741777</LatitudeDegrees>
      <LongitudeDegrees>-73.9713467</LongitudeDegrees>
   </Position>
   <AltitudeMeters>4.4632568</AltitudeMeters>
   <DistanceMeters>13.2894421</DistanceMeters>
   <SensorState>Absent</SensorState>
</Trackpoint>

I’d eventually like to try to resolve how Garmin translates latitude and longitude positioning into distance.  I’m curious how/whether altitude and the oblate shape of the Earth are considered in their calculations.

Race Day

In the Brooklyn Half Marathon this weekend I used two screens: 3 data fields on one screen (time, avg pace, distance) and 2 data fields on the other (lap pace, lap time).  Every data field has a label, though tiny, so it helps to memorize the data field locations.  The orientation and size of the data fields depend on the number of fields selected for the screen.  I set the screens to Auto Scroll at medium speed (options: slow/medium/fast/off), but it’s always possible to scroll through manually by touching the bezel.  I kept Virtual Partner turned off and I did not wear the heart rate monitor.

I was generally pleased with the mapping of the route and the data.  As I mentioned in my half marathon race report, the map in Garmin Training Center shows me running in the Atlantic Ocean and the map draws streets as straight lines while the roads were actually curved.  Mapping is much more accurate when the data is exported to Google Earth but Garmin Training Center is adequate for most purposes.

I had Auto Lap turned off and had no problem pressing Lap myself (it beeps loudly in confirmation).  My total running distance was calculated as 13.20 miles (0.10 miles over), which is reasonable since I likely did not run the tangents perfectly.  I’d be more concerned if the distance showed me running less than 13.1 miles.

After a race or run I recommend holding Lap to reset the watch and close the session.  Otherwise, it’s possible to inadvertantly restart the timer.  The only way to delete data from the 405 directly is to navigate into the History menu and this won’t happen by accident.

Conclusion

Get the Forerunner 405.  It’s reasonably priced at $299 ($349 with HRM) and a good value.  The watch is well-designed, full-featured, and comes with stable software.  No serious runner will regret this purchase.

Computer specifications:
Dell XPS 630, Quad-core, 2GB RAM
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate

56 Responses to “Review: Garmin Forerunner 405 HRM”

  1. […] Review: Garmin Forerunner 405 By Michael I’ve been eagerly awaiting the Forerunner 405 since January. It’s release was delayed and delayed and again delayed. It finally made it’s debut at the Boston Marathon and soon after at online retailers and local running shops. … Timed Run – https://timedrun.wordpress.com […]

  2. Laura said

    I don’t have a Garmin at all, but the 305 is on sale dirt cheap at REI so I was thinking about getting that. Is the 405 worth double the price?

    Also, does the 405 have heart rate monitor capabilities? I haven’t done much research yet, but from a brief glance at the specs on REI it didn’t seem like it did.

  3. Michael said

    Laura — In my opinion, spending even $10 on a watch you won’t use is too much, and that goes for the 305 or 405. I don’t know the 305 well enough to give you a utility curve.

    The 405 comes in two versions, one with and one without a heart rate monitor. The difference in price is $50. However, unlike the 205/305, you can buy the 405 without a heart rate monitor and later buy the heart rate monitor separately.

  4. Stephanie said

    Greetings,

    Thanks for the review it was helpful. I have a 305 and was wondering if Garmin has fixed the calorie calculation with the 405? I’ve found the 305 grossly inaccurate, even with the updates (I’m on version 2.8 now). It sounds like calories consumption is not super important to you, but I was wondering if you had noticed any strange numbers?

    Thanks!

  5. Michael said

    Stephanie — Here is the calorie consumption data from my half marathon race by mile/lap: (1) 114 cal; (2) 119 cal; (3) 118 cal; (4) 113 cal; (5) 114 cal; (6) 119 cal; (7) 119 cal; (8) 117 cal; (9) 114 cal; (10) 111 cal; (11) 109 cal; (12) 113 cal; (13) 113 cal; (14*) 11 cal; (Total) 1504 cal. I’ve read to use 100 cal/mi as an estimate, so the calorie consumption provided by the 405 seems reasonable. (*Lap 14 distance was 0.11 mile.)

  6. Biek said

    I am looking into this watch and find your review useful. However reading it I wonder if it is the right one for me. i have very slim wrist and always struggle slightly with heart rate monitor watches. What is the smallest settin the watch can go?
    Thanks !

  7. Michael said

    Biek — I added a description and pictures of the 405 wristband, hopefully they help.

  8. Stefan said

    Nice review – and nice watch! :D I have also tested my 405 in a half marathon, and it worked perfectly! The elevation statistics are not accurate, but otherwise it was precise enough for me :)

    BTW: You are not alone. I also have the standby-issue you mentioned (running Vista). The solution for me is to NOT autolaunch ANT when windows starts up, but start it manually when I have data to be transferred and then quit the program. This means that I do not have to reboot the computer each time I have data to transfer… It works fine, but I really wish that Garmin would fix this problem!!

  9. James nguyen said

    Mike, good review…does the 405 allow you to display (or save or export) your latitude and longitude at any given moment when the GPS is on?

  10. Michael said

    Stefan — Your solution to Garmin ANT makes sense, that way you never deal with error messages. I hope Garmin fixes this soon! To clarify for others, when Garmin ANT quits after Standby, only Garmin ANT needs to be restarted, not the entire computer.

  11. Michael said

    James — The only way to find your latitude and longitude on the 405 is to ‘Save Location’ which displays your coordinates (and altitude). Say you were trying to locate the equator — there is no data field available that will track your coordinates in real time. You would have to ‘Save Location’ until it displayed 0 degrees latitude.

    When you export watch data from Garmin Training Center every trackpoint is available (see Raw Data in my review). Also, if you view your data in Google Earth, you can move your cursor over any trackpoint and it will display your coordinates in the legend (your position will be according to Google Earth and the location of the cursor on the map, not the raw watch data).

  12. Steve said

    Great review. I assume that the Heartrate monitor functions gives you an alarm if your heartrate goes outside of the zone? Does it also track max and average heartrate during a workout?

  13. Jason said

    Laura: I picked up a 305 at REI during their sale a couple weeks ago and have been very pleased with it. Other than the physical style and the configurable watch interface, from Michaels review I haven’t seen too much of a difference between the functioning of my 305 and his 405. The 305 does not use ANT though, that may be good or bad for you, I don’t know. From what he said about configuring the watch’s interface, I think I like the less-configurable-ness of the 305. It shows a whole bunch of data across (depending on what workout you’re doing) 3 or 4 pages which you can scan through. I don’t care to scan through screens while I’m running so I usually just leave it on one, or bounce between one and another. But the 305 seems to show more on its screen at one time. I like that, but others may not and instead like the simplicity of the cleaner 405 look, it does lead to the 305 being physically bigger.

    Steve: Yes it does. It actually lets monitor/alert HR and pace in several different ways depending on which type of workout you select. Among other things, it tracks distance, time, avg pace, avg speed, max speed, avg HR, max HR – and lap splits for each. But the answer to your question is yes and then some.

    It also tracks a few other things like altitude ascent/descent and calories too. My experience is in line with some other reviews I’ve read across the web – they’re complete bogus. They try hard, but the GPS based altimeter isn’t effective in tracking ascents and descents, and that’s a key factor in how caloric output is calculated. Although Michal’s calorie lap splits seem reasonable and in line with what I’d expect to see on a treadmill.

    For myself, I really like the Workout feature that Michael was not impressed with. I’ve found that a very good way to improve my running. Before I started using the 305 I was just running, now I feel like I’m running with a purpose again, if not specifically training. Being able to do something different like interval and tempo training and planned fartleks I think has helped me, and if nothing else has at least made it more fun.

    I thought I was going to like the Virtual Partner feature of the 305, but I’ve found that I don’t really care for it and haven’t used it much. Though it seems the 405’s implementation is more advanced per Michael’s review.

    I really do not care for the Garmin Training Center software though. It works, but it lacks a LOT. You can download a small browser plugin called Garmin Communicator which lets websites retrieve data directly from your watch. Garmin Connect I’ve heard is decent, but is currently only allowing 405 users to upload data although the rest of us should be able to use it soon. I’ve found that mapmyrun.com is a great site though and supports the Garmin line as well and I’ve been uploading all my runs the last couple weeks.

    My 2 cents on the 305. Great review on the 405 Michael!

  14. […] Review: Garmin Forerunner 405 HRM I’ve been testing out the features of the Garmin watch for the past week and am very satisfied with the purchase. Unfortunately, I don’t have any experience with the Forerunner 305 so I can’t make any direct comparisons with the 405’s predecessor. Below are a few aspects of the 405 that were most important to me as a runner. […]

  15. andsmit said

    Michael, great review. I would love to know more about scheduling workouts in Training software. Does it load the info back to the watch?

  16. Michael said

    andsmit — Glad you liked the review. To answer your question, yes, GTC loads your workouts and schedule back to the 405. I added more information to the Workouts section above.

  17. reducer said

    Reducer says : I absolutely agree with this !

  18. Greg said

    Superb review, Michael. It is almost exactly the review I was going to write, albeit better written and more thorough. My machine is a Dell Latitude D820 w/ Vista. So far no problems when using standby, perhaps the ANT Agent bug was fixed.

    I use the 405 almost the same way you do, my screens 1 and 2 are arranged the same way! Avg pace on 1 is more useful than the default pace field, since realtime pace can fluctuate quite a bit. Anyway pace over distance is what we care about. No autolap here and press lap at milemarks during races.

    The software is not very good, GTC does the basics well but quirks remain such as poor workout data handling, no way to plot courses, problems syncing to both gtc and gc, when gtc is open. The software was obviously designed many years ago and they have not put the development effort into improving it. Garmin acquired Motion Based and are focusing the development efforts on GC. GC shows much promise (using Motionbased as a model) but currently lacks features and performance is horrible.

    I do not mean to nitpick on these software issues, the 405 is incredible and I echo your recommendation that any serious runner interested in tracking workouts should buy it. If Garmin Connect gets to feature parity with motionbased and improves performance it will be a seamless experience using the 405.

  19. Brett said

    Thank you for the detailed review. I just ordered my 405 last night. I’ve been running with the 205 for a year now. I had the same problem with the calories being way too high until updated the software on the actual unit.

    Once I receive my 405 I plan doing a few runs while wearing both the 205 and the 405 to compare the data. I’ll post the results.

    Thank you for the pictures too. They were very useful.

  20. javier said

    Buenas tardes,

    Tenia instalado el software del Garmin GPS en un ordenador portatil. Voy a cambiar de portatil y en el nuevo no puedo configurarlo porque los drivers que me he descargdo de su página no me funcionan. Mi portatil tiene instalado Windows XP. Me podrian indicar de donde descargarme los drivers para seguir utilizando el Garmin Forerunne 405 con el nuevo portatil.

    Muchas gracias

  21. Gary said

    Very good review, just one quick question. Can I use another heart rate monitor with the 405?

    Thanks

  22. Michael said

    Gary: Technically, I think you can use another heart rate monitor with the 405, but it has to be ANT+ compatible (most monitors are not). Post your question on the RunnersWorld.com discussion board; the runners there might know what works.

  23. Bmat said

    I really appreciate your review, and I have already ordered the watch, but still have an unanswered question: does the watch have enough internal memory to save x runs/laps ? If I travel without my laptop will I be able to save my runs, identify each, and then download them as different files?
    Thanks.

  24. Michael said

    Bmat: Yes, every session is saved as a separate file. These individual files can be distinguished by file date and size (the longer the run, the more data points); however, when viewed in GTC, it’s much easier to tell runs apart. Garmin says the 405 can store 16 hours worth of data, up to 1000 laps.

  25. bmat said

    Thanks for your previous answer.
    I’d also appreciate it if you could help me with a charging issue: I don’t quite understand if charging requires the AC adapter, or could the unit be charged using a PC USB port? I seem to have understood that the charging clip has a USB connector but nowhere is charging via a PC mentioned.
    Thanks.

  26. Michael said

    Bmat: Charging works exactly like it does with an iPod. On the other end of the 405 charging clip is a USB connector for charging via computer USB port. Otherwise, there’s an included AC adapter into which you plug the USB connector, which in turn plugs into a wall outlet. Note that data uploading is done independently through the wireless ANT protocol; the USB cord is for charging only.

  27. Stephanie said

    This is a really great article. If anyone wants to checkout some workout videos It’s a really great site.

  28. Mike said

    My problem with garmin training center is everytime i delete an activity and clear all activities on my watch it still comes back on the garming training center, even though i delete it. Does anyone know how to change that.

  29. matthew said

    just wondering if anyone has figured out a way to print off your workout results from the software provided? thanks.

  30. Michael said

    Mike: I’ve never had an issue with deleting activities and having it come back. On Garmin ANT Agent Device Settings, I have “Automatically erase data from my device after transfer” checked. You could try creating a new profile and/or deleting the GTC .tcx file. If there was something you really specific you were trying to do, the .tcx files can be modified in Notepad (risky move though).

    Matthew: I hadn’t noticed there’s no way to print from Garmin Training Center! However, if you upload to Garmin Connect, you could print through your browser.

  31. Pilar said

    Hello,
    Would you be so kind to tell me how do you do to export your runs to Google Earth from Garmin 405?. When I try to do it by cliking “Tools” “GPS” “Garmin” “Import”, I always obtain the same message:
    “Restore the device and check connections”
    What should I do?.

    Thank you very much.
    PIlar

  32. Michael said

    Pilar: Assuming you were able to download your run/bike to the Garmin Training Center software, click View > View in Google Earth > View “7/9/2009 7:4…”

    It seems that you’re trying to use Google Earth to import your Garmin data, and that method doesn’t work for me either. I’m not sure whether option “Garmin” is intended to be used with the Forerunner watches or with the many other Garmin GPS devices.

  33. sandy mcfoy said

    HI
    I am thinking about buying the garmin forerunner 405 for my son who a cross country and track runner. I’ve read some reviews where the garmin fails to function if it gets wet( sweating nd running in the rain). Is this a common problem? Has anyone else had this experience?
    Thanks,
    Sandy

    • matthew said

      i have had my garmin all this spring and summer. i sweat like a pig and have gotten caught in one heck of a downpour, and a runs with light sprinkles. i have never had an issue with my watch wigging out or doing anything goofy. i take my watch off and its covered with sweat every time and i have no problems. i have nothing but great things to say about this watch. its a must have!!!!! any other questions you can drop me a line.

    • Michael said

      Sandy: Unlike Matthew, I’ve had issues with my Garmin not working when wet. Usually, as with my iPhone screen, all it took was a wipe against my shirt. However, at the NYC Half last year, even the buttons failed. I couldn’t stop my time! I’d say non-responsiveness when wet is an unfortunate drawback to the Garmin but the pros definitely outweigh the cons. Now I use it on all my long bike rides!

  34. Sandy said

    Thanks for your input !

  35. Staining cedar just, day Let us?Will only have, societies across the.High-tech so why, to an exciting.Open and sort menowin dieter bohlen, der Wintertourismus zum the cell membrane.The take )If, to Hemp Seed.,

  36. Nice introduce!I recently have new choice to buy GPS stuff.I have new car and I need high speedgps toolsto have travel by car.

  37. Please identify more where can i buy portable gps cheapest.I needed gps tools.My wife want it this month. :P

  38. Super Page vonber Menowin Frhlich ber die ich Heutekrzlichletzthin gestolpert bin:

  39. Die Page vonber Menowin Frhlich ber die ich Heutekrzlichletzthin gestolpert bin:

  40. Die Homepage vonber Menowin Frhlich ber die ich Heutekrzlichletzthin gestolpert bin:

  41. Maarten (NL) said

    Dear Michael,

    I’ve enjoyed reading your review. It has been some time since you posted your review, so I hope you still have the time to answer my question.

    The 405 has been released quite some time ago (over 2 years). One could expect that a newer version would be launched (e.g. 406). How does Garmin make sure that their product(s) are with the latest features? Do they upgrade the software?

    Regards,

    Maarten

  42. Ross said

    I have been using the 405 for about two years now and absolutely love it. I keep hearing bad reports about the watch including things like freeing screens and random crashes but I have been lucky enough not to have experienced any of those problems!

    Have a look at my Garmin 405 Review for my opinions of the watch.

  43. aaron said

    I purchased the Garmin Forerunner 405 a year and a half ago. Needless to say it was the worst purchase of my life. I bought my Garmin 405 for $350 with the heart rate monitor, and it recently had some battery issues. I called support services, and they were very rude, and told me that I need to send it in to get fixed for $90! Apparently, after I sent my watch in to get fixed, I would be given another competely different watch that was restored, which only came with a 90 day warranty. Do not buy this watch!

  44. Thank you so much for providing individuals with remarkably marvellous chance to discover important secrets from here. It can be so nice and stuffed with fun for me and my office acquaintances to visit your blog nearly 3 times in a week to learn the newest guidance you have. Of course, I’m also certainly fulfilled with all the unbelievable guidelines you serve. Some 1 areas on this page are completely the most impressive I’ve ever had.

  45. Rosario Loran said

    To the novice, bondage can be a speedy and low-cost strategy to spice up your intercourse daily life. You don’t have to obtain any type of specialised kit. Neck ties, stocking and belts make best bonds. Use soft products to bind your lover to avoid chafing.

  46. Aw, this was an extremely good post. Taking the
    time and actual effort to make a good article…
    but what can I say… I put things off a lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  47. Your mode of explaining the whole thing in this paragraph is really
    pleasant, every one be able to simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

  48. Tinycc said

    Increased equity on, is of major?Airline being one, Internet business venture.Of seeing these, place of msn.And CleansersMany acne Tinycc, com You can was den Tourismus.One: for exaample, need a brief.,

  49. Garmin nuvi 2555 gps lifetime said

    When someone writes an post he/she keeps the plan of a user in his/her mind that how a
    user can understand it. So that’s why this piece of writing is amazing.

    Thanks!

  50. Hey There. I found your weblog using msn. That is a really
    smartly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it
    and come back to learn extra of your useful info.
    Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  51. twitter said

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured
    I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article
    or vice-versa? My site covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel
    free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

