New York Colon Cancer Challenge 15K

March 9, 2008

New York Colon Cancer Challenge 15K/9.3M (Q)
Central Park, New York, NY
Sunday, March 9, 2008

Official time
1:09:08 (7:26 pace)

Mile marker: lap/split
Mile 1: 7:30/7:30
Mile 2: 6:38/14:09
Mile 3: 8:02/22:11
Mile 4: 7:13/29:24
Mile 5: 7:31/36:55
Mile 6: 7:35/44:31
Mile 7: 7:19/51:51
Mile 8: 7:44/59:36
Mile 9: 7:21/1:06:57
Finish: 2:15/1:09:13

This morning I was dealing with a pulled shoulder muscle, continuing left foot ache, and poor sleep — things were not looking promising. For breakfast I had what’s evolving into my standard pre-race breakfast: croissant, apple, PowerBar, and Gatorade.

With plenty of time to start, I lined up in front of the 8:00 minute pace marker. I figured that in a smaller field at a 15K race, the pace would be truer. For the most part it was.

Today’s 15K sets my personal record for longest run. With no experience at this distance, my goal was consistent mile times with strong, steady effort. I think I did this very well; except for some irregularity in miles 2 and 3 that I think was due to an incorrectly placed mile marker (anyone else notice?), I didn’t fade through the race. I did expect some deviation since the Central Park loop is unevenly hilly and wind was a moderate factor.

As a volleyball player I used to sleep with a volleyball; now I sleep with the race course map. I purchased two Gu gels yesterday, one for testing and one for the race. At mile 3 I started sucking down the gel packet so that it’d be finished in time for the water station at Central Park South. I planned a second optional water stop at around mile 7 at the 102nd St. transverse and took it.

The running itself was uneventful. I didn’t suffer any cramps or stomach aches which would have been disastrous. I finished the race with tight hamstrings and chaffing on my neck from my jacket but nothing too serious. I occupied my time by trying to draft behind other runners and finding pace buddies. Yeah, someone really needs an iPod!

I’m satisfied with my performance today. I kept it together and made a good first 15K showing.

2 Responses to “New York Colon Cancer Challenge 15K”

  1. Laura said

    Hey, found your blog by googling for other race reports. Great job! Looks like we started at about the same place (I was mid-8:00 to 9:00), but you definitely finished way faster. I was not on my game at all on Sunday.

    Looking forward to reading about more of your races!

  2. Colon said

    I also started about 8 to 9 o’clock too… I am just getting over a cold so I didn’t do as well as I hoped… Your time was definately better than mine…. Great job!

Leave a Reply

