Prediction 1

February 11, 2008

I have a habit of soliciting people’s guesses and predictions. So here is mine….

I’ll complete my first marathon in 3 hours 50 minutes (8:50 pace). I figure if my current pace is around 7:50 for a 4-5 mile run, tacking on a minute per mile seems reasonable.

It’s been easy running a few miles at a time, but once I cross 8 miles it’ll be unchartered territory. While the running will turn longer and more difficult, the biggest challenge will be staying focused and to not let my next big idea become my next big distraction. Marathon training will take eight or nine months of almost daily dedication. Knowing this, I started this blog to keep me accountable.

By far, by farrr, my biggest concern is getting hurt. Pretty much anything can be overcome; injuries are the only show-stopper.

Leave a Reply

